St Patrick's Day Parade Results

Thursday, 30 March 2017

St Patrick's Day Parade Results thumbnailPictured at the presentation of the award were front (l. to r.) Steve Crofton, Michael Madden (Sponsor), Marie Spencer (St Vincent de Paul), Mary Heffernan, Ellen O Donovan; Back Beata Dziobek, Dariusz Piadlo. MT13101PJW

This year's Organising Committee, made up of Chairman Steve Crofton, Shane Lee, Marie Tooher, John Lupton, Mary Heffernan, Mike Edwards, Sean Delaney, Derek Russell, PJ Wright and Arthur Crawford would like to thank sincerely all who helped out in any way in making the Roscrea St. Patrick's Day Parade a success.
The Committee would especially like to thank the following: Mr. Brendan Keeshan as Guest of Honour, The White House for the Pre-Parade reception, Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Ros Cré for providing music at the Pre Parade reception and on the Review Stand before the Parade, Teresa Delaney for the face painting, Phelan's Market House, the Marshals, Doherty Hardware and Coughlan Hauliers to providing the use of their trailer and lorry, the Garda Siochana, Ger O'Meara, Sean Doherty, MC for the day Mr. Adrian Hewson, all the participants of floats and the Judges - Rose Crofton and Joan Murray.
The 2017 Roscrea St. Patrick's Day Parade was sponsored by Roscrea Credit Union, Tipperary County Council, Roscrea Vintners, Roscrea Lion's Club, Roscrea Chamber of Commerce, Michael Breen Solicitor, Redmond's Photography, Terry Farrelly Dental Practitioner, AIB, Percivals, Victor Mitchell - Auctioneers, Valuers & Estate Agents, Drennan's Butchers, John McQuaid, Seamus Browne - Auctioneer & Valuer and everyone who gave so generously to the Church gate collection.
The organisers also wish to acknowledge the involvement of many community groups and many groups of young people in this year's Parade which helped make it very much a community event.
The winners of the 2017 Parade float competition were:
Best Overall Entry - Roscrea Chamber of Commerce Perpetual trophy & €100 went to Inspire Dance Academy. Best Schools entry - Bernie's SuperValu Perpetual Trophy & €100 went to Corville School, Best Business float - Lupton & Associates Perpetual trophy & €100 went to Seamus Coonan & Sons, Best Youth/Sports Category - R.C.T.L.C. Perpetual trophy & €100 went to Roscrea Scouts, Best Local community group - RCDC Charlie Doyle perpetual trophy & €100 went to Gleann Glas, Best Cultural and Traditional - John O'Donnell Perpetual shield went to Theresa Larkin School of Music, Best Visiting Band - Michael Delahunty Perpetual Trophy went to the MacDonagh Pipe Band, Best Visiting out of town entry - Tesco Perpetual trophy went to Thurles Vintage Club, Best entry from a local club or organisation went to World Taekwondo, Special Merit shield sponsored by the St. Patrick' Day Committee went to The Haven Rescue, Special Recognition Award sponsored by Roscrea Credit Union went to Tiny Tots Toddler Group and the winners of the Shop Window Display: 1st (sponsored by Roscrea Heritage) St. Vincent de Paul Society, 2nd (sponsored by Roscrea Chamber of Commerce) Euro World and 3rd (sponsored by Roscrea Chamber of Commerce) Patterson's Hardware.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete