Kiladangan tackle Holycross in bid for county honours

Thursday, 7 December 2017

AND now there are two. Two teams in the county final as Kiladangan take on Holycross Ballycahill in the Tipperary Water County Under-21 A Hurling final at Templederry next Sunday, throw in 1.30pm.
Both teams won the right to play in the final winning their respective divisional finals with Holycross defeated Carrick Swans in their semi final while Kiladangan overcoming Clonoulty Rossmore in the other semi-final last Sunday.
The teams have contrasting journeys over the last three years. Holycross won the Minor A final three years ago when they defeated Drom Inch by five points. They failed to reach the county final the same year. In 2015 they lost the Mid minor final to Drom Inch by two and had the misfortune to lose the 2016 Minor decider by three points this time to J.K. Brackens. In fact Holycross reached six minor A finals in a row, won 2012, 2013, 2014 but lost in '15, '16 and '17.
Kiladangan on the other hand claimed the County Minor B county final when accounting for Loughmore Castleiney in 2014. They followed up with a victory over Newport Gaels in the North Minor A hurling final but lost to Saint Marys Clonmel in the county final. However the hopes of retaining the North Minor A hurling title were dealt a blow in the 2016 North Minor A final when they lost to Moneygall/Clonakenny.
Meanwhile both teams have little by way of success at under -21 A county final level. They won their one and only in 1996 when they defeated Clonoulty Rossmore. Their current team selector Donal Duggan was on that team. The tradition continues.
Holycross beat Drom Inch in the Mid final 4-15 to 0-14 and accounted for Carrick Swans in the county semi final by 1-25 to 1-8. They have plenty good hurlers in All-Ireland Minor medal winners Gavin Dunne and Bryan O'Mara. Jack Skehan won a Munster minor medal in 2015. Daragh Woods was a member of the 2017 team while goalkeeper Euan Burke is currently on this year's under 21 squad.
Kiladangan reached the county under 21 A final in 2014 when losing to Loughmore Castleiney 1-8 to 0-10. Like Holycross they have plenty talent with Barry Hogan, James Quigley and Willie Connors who have donned the county jersey. Darren Moran is a reliable full back and captains the team. Dan O'Meara continues to torment every opposition while Andy Loughnane and Eoin Meagher add valuable assistance.
This is a difficult one to call but Holycross have the experience of reaching many finals in the recent past and that could swing it very narrowly.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete