Lowry and Delaney to be inducted into Offaly GAA Hall of Fame

Thursday, 7 December 2017

Lowry and Delaney to be inducted into Offaly GAA Hall of Fame thumbnailKinnitty's Pat Delaney is the newest entrant into the Offaly GAA Hurling Hall of Fame. MT49724BL

THE 2017 Offaly GAA/Bridge House players of the year awards were selected on Monday night last with a total of 18 recipients set to be honoured on Friday January 12 at the presentation night in the Bridge House.
The selection committee consisting of Brian Lowry (Midland/Tullamore Tribune), Kevin Corrigan (Midland/Tullamore Tribune), Will O'Callaghan (Midlands 103), Mary Dunne (Offaly Topic) and Kevin Egan (Offaly Independent) deliberated over the various categories before they were announced at last night's (Tuesday) Offaly GAA County Convention.
The two latest inductees into the hall of fame are two giants of the Offaly GAA and men who represented their County with distinction through their career.
Ferbane's Sean Lowry will be inducted into the football hall of fame. The three time All Ireland winner follows on from last year's winner Father Nicholas Clavin and is honoured for a career spanning two decades. All Ireland titles in 1971, 1972 and 1982 were claimed by Lowry while he also won an All star award in 1982.
His hurling counterpart will be Pat Delaney. The Kinnitty man played centre back on the first ever Offaly team to win an All Ireland senior hurling title back in 1981 and he too had a career with Offaly that spanned from the seventies right up to 1989. Delaney was also part of the team that won the All Ireland in 1985 and can also lay claim to an All star award.
Rhode went top of the pile in Offaly this year with their 28th Offaly senior football crown and Brian Darby has been selected Senior footballer of the year for his solid defensive displays and leadership for Rhode and Offaly. Darby, who has recently retired from Inter County football, played a big part in the Rhode league and championship success this year while also being one of Offaly's most consistent defenders.
Kilcormac/Killoughey won their fourth Offaly senior hurling crown this year with Dan Currams playing a key role in that triumph. He was injured in the lead up to the County final but came on to puck three points in one of many fine displays during the year.
Overall, there are 12 clubs represented with Ferbane duo Colin Kenny and Cian Johnson scooping the U-21 and Minor football awards respectively. Ballinamere take three awards with Paddy Murphy the Intermediate hurler, Danny O'Brien the Junior 'A' hurler and Brian Duignan winning the Minor hurler of the year following on from his brother Sean who won it last year.
Shamrocks star forward Nigel Dunne is the Senior 'B' footballer of the year for his displays for his club on route to a Senior 'B' semi final and also for Offaly where he led the attack. His club mate Ger Keyes will also be recognised as the football referee of the year.
Erin Rovers had a sensational year that saw them land the Intermediate football title while also making the Leinster club Junior football final. Their full forward Nathan Poland was a pivotal part of their success and he is the Intermediate footballer of the year.
Conor Freeman played a starring role in St Brendan's in landing the U-21 hurling title last Saturday and he is honoured with the U-21 hurler of the year accolade while Birr's Richie Fitzsimons is the hurling referee of the year.
Ballycommon won the Junior 'A' football championship and captain and centre back Karl Dunne was outstanding for them all year in guiding them to the title.
Siobhan Flannery played a starring role for St Rynagh's as they won their first ever Offaly Senior Camogie title while also being to the fore for Offaly. Naomh Ciaran's Ellee McEvoy had a busy year between club and county and her performances earned her the Ladies footballer of the year.
In terms of Handball, David Hope won the Leinster and All Ireland Over 35's 'A' singles and doubles title in 2017 and he is the Handballer of the year.
The full list of winners is as follows.
Football hall of fame - Sean Lowry (Ferbane)
Hurling hall of fame - Pat Delaney (Kinnitty)
Senior football - Brian Darby (Rhode)
Senior hurling - Dan Currams (Kilcormac/Killoughey)
Senior 'B' Football - Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)
Intermediate hurling - Paddy Murphy (Ballinamere)
Intermediate football - Nathan Poland (Erin Rovers)
Junior 'A' football - Karl Dunne (Ballycommon)
Junior 'A' hurling - Danny O'Brien (Ballinamere)
U-21 football - Colin Kenny (Ferbane)
U-21 hurling - Conor Freeman (Carrig and Riverstown/St Brendan's)
Minor football - Cian Johnson (Ferbane)
Minor hurling - Brian Duignan (Ballinamere)
Hurling referee - Richie Fitzsimons (Birr)
Football referee - Ger Keyes (Shamrocks)
Camogie - Siobhan Flannery (St Rynagh's)
Ladies football - Ellee McEvoy (Naomh Ciaran)
Handball - David Hope (Fahy)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete