North Board presentations night

Thursday, 11 January 2018

FOURTEEN winning captains, representing eleven clubs, who led their clubs to various North Tipperary hurling and football championship successes in 2017 are invited to a presentation night in Ballinahinch Community Hall on this Friday January 12 at 8pm.
Toomevara's David Kennedy took home the cup in both the North Junior Hurling League and championship. The eleven clubs represented took home silverware from fifteen different competitions with Toomevara, Portroe, Kiladangan and Lorrha taking home two pieces of silverware.
As a result the captains and their families and friends accompanied by their respective pieces of silverware such as the familiar Frank McGrath, Fr Hewitt and O'Keeffe Cups will be in attendance for what is now an annual event organised by the North Tipp GAA Board.
The list of winning captains is as follows:
Senior Hurling: Paddy Stapleton, Borris-Ileigh. 
Intermediate Hurling: Donnacha McGrath, Ballinahinch.
Junior A Hurling: David Kennedy, Toomevara. 
Junior B Hurling: Mike Coffey, Newport.  
U-21B Hurling: Brian Hogan, Lorrha. 
U-21A Hurling: Darren Moran, Kiladangan
Minor A Hurling: Stephen Carey, Roscrea. 
Minor B Hurling: Michael Kelly, Borrisokane. 
Junior A League: David Kennedy, Toomevara. 
Junior B League: Christopher Guilfoyle, Lorrha. 
U-21 B Football: Dylan Fluck, Portroe. 
Minor A Football: Jay Culleton, Inane Rovers. 
Minor B Football: Kevin Oakley/Nathan Ryan, Kilruane.  
Intermediate Football: Willie Connors, Kiladangan. 
Junior A Football: James Ryan, Portroe. 
Players Of The Year Awards
On the same night the eight players - five hurlers and three footballers - will receive their player of the year awards. From the five hurlers the outright hurler of the year for 2017 will be revealed. Similarly the footballer of the year will also be revealed.
The winning players are listed as follows.
Senior Hurler of the year: Conor Kenny, Borris-Ileigh.
Intermediate Hurler of the year: John Foley, Ballinahinch.
Junior Hurler of the year: Shane Nolan, Toomevara.
U-21 Hurler of the year: Willie Connors, Kiladangan.
Minor Hurler of the year: Glen Loughnane, Roscrea.
Junior Footballer of the year: James Ryan, Portroe
U-21 Footballer of the year: Robert Byrne, Portroe
Minor Footballer of the year: Karl Williams, Kilruane
Club Of The Year 
Ballinahinch club won the Nenagh Guardian club of the year and will receive the Nenagh Guardian Statuette on the night. It's the second time the club claimed the award. They won it back in 2002.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete