Seven Tipperary Players Names On All-Stars Hurling Team

Thursday, 10 November 2016

Seven Tipperary Players Names On All-Stars Hurling Team thumbnailTipperary hurlers John McGrath, Ronan Maher and Padraic Maher arriving at the 2016 GAA/GPA Opel All-Stars Awards at the Convention Centre in Dublin. MT45684SF

SEVEN Tipperary players were named on the 2016 GAA/GPA All-Stars Hurling team, which was announced at the GAA/GPA All-Stars awards banquet in conjunction with Opel, which was held on Friday night in Dublin's Convention Centre.
There are four counties in all represented with Leinster champions and All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny receiving four, while Galway and Waterford both received two awards from the initial list of 45 nominees.
Powerful Premier wing back Pádraic Maher collects his fourth All-Star having been named at left half back alongside his younger brother Ronan who collected his first. Cathal Barrett and James Barry also received their first awards in defence.
It's the first time that two brothers have been honoured as Hurling All-Stars in the same year since Ollie and Joe Canning from Portumna in Galway were named on the 2009 selection.
The half back line is completed by first time recipient Pádraig Walsh from Kilkenny who follows in the footsteps of his older brother Tommy - who himself amassed an incredible nine All-Stars over the course of his illustrious career.
In attack, Tipperary's John McGrath is one of nine first time All-Stars recipients and emulates his older brother Noel, who is a two-time All-Star. Lorrha's Patrick Maher received his second award with Seamus Callanan picking up his third award.
Uachtarán CLG Aogán Ó Fearghail said: 'This great game of hurling which is unique to us as a people helps us keep in touch with the heroes and warriors of our past - and I want to sincerely congratulate the modern day heroes who have been announced as GAA/GPA All-Stars for 2016.
'Yet again it is a selection of the very highest calibre and as they enter the history books as prestigious holders of this coveted award it is a tribute to their families who stood behind them and also their Clubs who helped mould them into the players they have become.'
Dessie Farrell, Chief Executive of the Gaelic Players' Association, added: 'Congratulations to the Opel GAA/GPA Hurling All-Stars for 2016. Thanks to all the inter-county hurlers who contributed so handsomely to the 2016 season and to all the players who voted for the Players of the Year and to our loyal sponsors Opel who have given wonderful support to the All-Stars Awards Scheme.'
Commenting on the announcement, Dave Sheeran, Managing Director Opel Ireland said: 'With some fantastic moments over the course of the senior hurling champion season, it is no surprise to see eventual winners Tipperary dominating the shortlist this year.'
The All Star team in full is: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny); Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), James Barry (Tipperary), Daithí Burke (Galway); Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Ronan Maher (Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary); Jamie Barron (Waterford), David Burke (Galway); Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Patrick Bonner Maher (Tipperary); Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary), John McGrath (Tipperary).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete