Tipperary Community Games AGM

Thursday, 24 November 2016

COUNTY Tipperary Community Games held their 2017 AGM in the Anner Hotel, Thurles, where there was a good attendance. Following comprehensive reports from all the officers, the main topic of the evening was the forthcoming changes to the National Finals programme and change in deadlines.
Chairperson Mary Moroney welcomed the guest speaker, Kieran D'Arcy, National Games Director from Offaly. Kieran outlined plans for the new May National Finals in Abbotstown which consist of a meeting on Friday night and one day competitions on Saturday. The same venue will possibly be used in August. It is proposed to hold the 2018 May finals in UL to coincide with 50 years of Munster Games.
Kieran also stated a huge effort is required to keep the games alive. He would like to see some sponsorship going back to areas. Development and the need to keep young people involved is vital.
Good wishes for a speedy recovery were extended to secretary, Kitty England. Michael England expressed thanks on behalf of Kitty to everybody who sent messages of support. It is expected to see Kitty back in the new year, please God.
Treasurer Pauline Martin O'Rourke provided a detailed financial report. She was very grateful for the annual County Council grant which is a huge help. There is a €25 fine for teams that withdraw after deadlines. In future Pauline will email areas with an invoice following online entries.
Affiliations will not be accepted without money up front but balance of fees will be accepted up to National Finals. This year all areas must be affiliated before November 30th. Teams scheduled for the May finals must be entered before November 30th. The draw will take place at the next  meeting on December 4th. Affiliations will not be processed if an area owes money.
Cashel, Rosegreen and Templederry were congratulated on winning the best overall areas, also Callum Cooke, Roscrea winner of the Youth award and Deirdre Ryan, St Flannan's winner of the Adult Volunteer award.
The Youth Committee were complimented for their wonderful work at County, Munster and National level. Carole Hogan appealed for youth over 16 to please contact her and become part of this exciting group.
Child Officer, Deirdre Ryan stressed that all team leaders and coaches must be E-Vetted.  This must be done online.
In her Chairperson's address Mary Moroney congratulated every child who took part especially the those lucky enough to win medals at the National Finals where Tipperary won gold in nine events, silver in 10, bronze in five and Pewter in six. She thanked all managers, volunteers, co-ordinators and those who provided venues.
The media were complimented on their continuous support.
Mary extended sympathy to all who lost loved ones.
President, Breeda Christie, presented a Cup to the county to be awarded to the best turned out Area in the parade at the County Athletics finals.
The following officers were elected: President - Breeda Christie (Tipperary Town); Chairperson - Mary Moroney (Silvermines); Vice Chair - Jim Ryan (Moycarkey Borris); Secretary - Joan Hogan (St Flannan's); Asst Sec. - Peggy Colville (Fethard Killusty); Treasurer - Pauline M O'Rourke (Roscrea); Asst Treas. - Eleanor McCahill (Tipperary Town); Teams North - Seamus Hogan (St Flannan's); Teams South - Joan O'Connor (Powerstown Lisronagh); Indiv. Sec - Joan Hogan (St Flannan's); Athletics Sec - Kathleen England (Roscrea); Development South - Albert Doyle, Mary Doyle (both New Inn), Paul Carew (Lattin Cullen), Peggy Colville; Development North - Pauline Martin O'Rourke, Michael England, Joan Hogan, Mary Moroney, Joan Hogan, Liam Tierney (Cloughjordan); PRO South - Sandra O'Dwyer (St Peter & Paul's); PRO North - Dorothy Cullagh (Silvermines); PPN & NTLP - Emby Walsh (Carrick On Suir); South/North - Pauline Martin O Rourke (Roscrea);
NEAC - Michael England (Roscrea); Youth Officer - Carole Hogan (St Flannan's); Child Officer - Deirdre Ryan (St Flannan's); Munster Delegates - Michael England, Joan Hogan, Pauline Martin O'Rourke; Appeals - Joan O'Connor, Jim Ryan, Albert Doyle, Liam Tierney, Fr Bobby Fletcher, Michael England, Paul Carew.
The following motions were approved to be forwarded to the National AGM.
That a Pole Vault competition be introduced at National level for Girls & Boys U-16.
That the Girls & Boys U-16 Triple Jump be re-introduced at National level.
That no person shall sit for a period of more that four consecutive years on the Board of Directors of National Community Games. (Roscrea)
It was suggested to hold county finals of: Cross Country in Thurles Crokes on Friday, December 18th. Girls & Boys Futsal early January, Swimming end of January/early February in Clonmel Pool, Gymnastics in Monroe, early April, Polly Murphy to take care of Mini Rugby and Tag Rugby.
The Programme for the May National finals may be viewed on or or Facebook page.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete