Borrisokane CC Canter To Easy Victory In Cup Final

Thursday, 8 December 2016

orrisokane Community College ..7-12 Carrick On Suir CBS ..2-5
COLM Fogarty scored 2-9 to help Borrisokane Community College overcome Carrick on Suir CBS with ease to win the Hennessy Cup Under 15 B final at The Ragg last Friday.
Always in front, Borrisokane went from 1-7 to 1-1 in front at half time to break the hearts of the South Tipp school with six second half goals and had the game well wrapped up by the three quarter way mark.
But it was the Lorrha man who was the man of the match in a full forward line that contributed 4-11 in total with Conor Ryan and Ciaran Clarke causing danger anytime play closed in on the Carrick goal.
Indeed were it not for the remarkable performance of Carrick goalkeeper, Kieran Barry, the winning margin would have been much greater. In fact both keepers were in great shape as Luke Gleeson kept the Borrisokane goal intact with a string of great saves.
But upfront Fogarty produced a one man show scoring four points, two from frees, in the opening six minutes. However, Carrick On Suir had their moments with Danny O'Callaghan and Jamie Holloway showing promise and after Danny O'Callaghan got their account open with a free they were back in the game when Sean Daley added a goal.
That was as close as it got because Borrisokane helped by Dylan Slevin, Cathal McGrath, Michael Egan and Michael Tierney began to dictate the game on their terms and Cathal Ryan made light of the Carrick defence to find the net after fifteen minutes it to make it 1-6 to 1-1. From there to half time Borrisokane continued to dominate and with the help of three more points to Fogarty (two frees) they led 1-9 to 1-2 at the break.
Carrick CBS applied pressure in the early stages of the second half and were unlucky not to raise a green flag in the 38th minute when Danny O'Callaghan was denied by a super Brennan save at the expense of a '65'. Borrisokane continued to soak up the pressure and in the 40th minute they put the game beyond Carrick's reach when Fogarty first timed at the third attempt after Kieran Barry made two saves in quick succession. Three minutes later Barry was involved again and despite his best efforts it was goal number three as Cian O'Meara drove to the net.
In an attempt to keep in touch Michael Morris sent a close in free to the net to leave his side trailing by ten but as the minutes rolled by Borris kept up the momentum and they increased the lead with a fourth goal when Fogarty netted again after a tremendous four man move involving Cian O'Meara, Conor Ryan and David O'Sullivan.
From there it was mainly one way traffic and more goals arrived with David O'Sullivan (48th minute), Conor Ryan (52nd) and Conor Whyte two minutes from time making it an easy win for Borris making up for last year's defeat to Killenaule in the decider.
After the game the Cup was presented to the winning captain Michael Tierney by Tom Maher secretary of the County Senior Board CCC.
SCORERS: Borrisokane CC; C Fogarty (2-9, 0-4 frees); C Ryan (2-1); C O'Meara, D O'Sullivan and C Whyte (1-0 each); C Clarke (0-1).
Carrick CBS: S Daley (1-0); M. Morris (1-0, free), D Maye (0-3, 0-1 free); D O'Callaghan and F Moore (0-1 each).
BORRISOKANE CC: Luke Gleeson (Borrisokane); Aaron McLoughlin (Nenagh Eire Og); Dylan Slevin (Borrisokane), Niall Cahalan (Kiladangan); Kevin Cleary (Borrisokane), Cathal McGrath (Silvermines), Daniel Ryan (Kiladangan); Conor Boyle (Toomevara), Michael Egan (Knockshegowna); Cian O'Meara (Borrisokane), Michael Tierney (Shannon Rovers), David O'Sullivan (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Ciaran Clarke (Shannon Rovers ), Colm Fogarty (Lorrha), Conor Ryan (Borrisokane). Subs: Nathan Lynch (Kilruane MacDonaghs) (for Cahalan, inj., 45 mins); Conor Whyte (for Clarke, 50 mins); Barry Shanahan (for C Ryan, 58 mins)
CARRICK ON SUIR CBS: Kieran Barry (Saint Mollerans); Niall O'Keeffe (Carrick Swans), Sean Purcell (Windgap), Dylan Casey (Saint Mollerans); Billy O'Callaghan (Piltown), Sean O'Neill (Piltown), Leon Kennedy (Ballyneale Grangemockler); Ben Comerford (Ballyneale Grangemockler) Capt), Peter Keane (Saint Mollerans); Brendan Wheeler (Piltown), Jamie Holloway (Carrick Swan), Darragh Maye (Piltown); Conor McGowan (Piltown), Danny O'Callaghan (Carrick Swan), Sean Daley (Ballyneale Grangemockler). Subs: Conor Murphy (Ballyneale Grangemockler) (for McGowan, 12 mins); Tommy O'Hanlon (Ballyneale Grangemockler) (for Wheeler, 36 mins); Michael Norris (Piltown) (for Comerford, 56 mins); Francis Moore (Piltown) (for O'Callaghan, 59 mins).
REFEREE: Johnny Butler (Upperchurch).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete