Bridge House Hotel - Offaly GAA Awards

Thursday, 29 December 2016

Bridge House Hotel - Offaly GAA Awards thumbnailMinor footballer of the year Shane O'Brien receives the Minor Football Championship trophy from Offaly GAA chairman, Padraig Boland with Philip O'Brien

TICKETS are still on sale for the Bridge House Hotel / Offaly GAA awards which takes place in the Bridge House Hotel, Tullamore on Friday, January 13.

The awards will be presented to the outstanding footballers and hurlers in the county from 2016 while St Carthage's Nick Clavin and Lusmagh's Joachim Kelly will be the latest inductees into the football and hurling hall of fames - it is expected that Fr Nick Clavin will be home from San Diego for the function.

The awards are sponsored by the Bridge House Hotel and there will also be presentations to the referees of the year and camogie, handball and ladies football recipients.

St Rynagh's Gary Kelly and Niall McNamee will be presented with the senior hurler and footballer of the year, along with the awards to the senior B football and intermediate, junior U-21 and minor hurler and footballer of the year.

The awards were selected by a panel of local journalists that comprised Kevin Corrigan (Tullamore Tribune), Mary Dunne (Offaly Topic), Kevin Egan (Offaly Independent), Brian Lowry (Midland Tribune) and Will O'Callaghan (Radio 3).

The highlight of the night will be the awards to the hall of fame recipients.

Fr Nick Clavin made his debut against Louth in the Championship of 1968, lining out at right half forward. The following year he wore the no 6 jersey as Offaly reached only their second All-Ireland final, before losing to Kerry.  He continued to make the centre-back berth his own until he retired following Offaly's loss to Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final of 1973.  In between he won two All-Ireland Senior medals, four Leinster medals and was honoured by the All-Star selectors in 1971. He now resides in San Diego, California.

Joachim Kelly played for Offaly from 1974 until 1993, making his debut in October 1974 when he lined out in the No 12 jersey against Antrim in the National Hurling League, he played his final game against Kilkenny in the Leinster Championship of 1993 wearing the No 6 jersey.

In all Joachim made a record 171 League and Championship appearances during a glittering career which saw him win Two All-Ireland Medals, 7 Leinster Senior Medals and two All-Star Awards - he also won a coveted Offaly Senior Championship medal with Lusmagh in 1989

The Full list of Hurling Recipients is:

Senior: Gary Kelly (St Rynagh's);

Intermediate: Liam Langton (Clodiagh Gaels);

Junior Hurling: Michael Monaghan (Clodiagh Gaels);

U21 Hurling: Conor Doughan (Shinrone);

Minor Hurling: Sean Duignan (Ballinamere/Durrow);

Camogie: Michaela Morkan (Shinrone);

Referee: Brian Gavin (Clara).


Football Recipients

Senior: Niall McNamee (Rhode);

Senior B: Eoin Carroll (Cappincur);

Intermediate: Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh);

Junior: Colin Kenny (Ferbane);

U21 Football: Shane Tierney (St Vincent's);

Minor Football: Shane O'Brien (St Broughan's);

Ladies Football: Emer Nally (Naomh Ciarán);

Referee: Fergal Smyth (Kilclonfert).


Handball - Cathal McNamee (Fahy Handball Club).



Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete