St Cillian's Crowned Division 2 Leinster League Camogie Champions

Thursday, 4 May 2017

St Cillian's Crowned Division 2 Leinster League Camogie Champions thumbnailSt Cillian's of Offaly celebrate winning the Division 2 Leinster League Final.

TWO goals were the difference in the division two Leinster league final as St. Cillian's dominated to claim their first silverware of the year.

Played in Rathleague GAA Portlaoise last Saturday, the Blue and white side didn't fear their opposition of Kilkenny natives Danesfort to pull off an excellent team performance in very blustery conditions.

From the moment the ball was thrown in, St. Cillian's dominated The 'Cats' in every sector. St. Cillian's were first out of the blocks hitting 1-2 in the first ten minutes. Using her goal instinct Aideen Freeman found the net first to the dismay of the Danesfort keeper.

The Offaly side continued their scoring trend smashing home another 1-1 in the remainder of the first half. This time Rachel Brennan finding the net which would prove to be a massive score.

Danesfort did manage to pop over 0-5 points but credit must be given to St. Cillian's as they kept the Danesfort defence extremely busy being a constant threat and working hard to keep the ball inside the Danesfort '65. At the half time break St. Cillian's lead by 2-3 to 0-5.

In the second half Danesfort tightened up their defence and tactics in a bid to stop St. Cillian's to continue their fine form. St. Cillian's defence was rarely tested in this game and this was testament to the pressure the St. Cillian's ladies applied in the opposition half.

Danesfort's defence play did put a stop to some St. Cillian's scores, however, this meant Danesfort themselves failed to score in the second half.

In the closing stages of a very good game Rachel Brennan found the net once more to send the Division 2 Leinster league cup back to St. Cillian's, the first time in a number of years that an Offaly team has won the title with Tullamore, Kinnitty and Kilcormac all played in other divisions this year. 

Congratulations also to Ciara Brennan on being awarded Player of the Match by the Leinster camoige chairperson Pat Martin. 

The St.Cillians panel included Ellen Cashen, Lisa Hoctor, Megan King, Orlaith Plunkett, Siofra Ryan, Ciara Brennan, Clodagh McCormack, Cailin Fitzgerarld, Siobhan Kileen, Niamh Kileen, Orla Carey, Elizabeth Harding, Aideen Freeman, Dara Hanamy and Rachel Brennan. Subs: Aoife Plunkett, Aoife Hogan, Aoife Hoctor, Sinead Bergin, Sarah Pingree, Ciara Hoctor and Emma Harding.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete