Tipperary championships moving towards the knock out stages

Thursday, 17 August 2017

Tipperary championships moving towards the knock out stages thumbnailJohn McGrath scored 2-5 for Loughmore Castleiney in their victory over Kiladangan. MT31481RM

CALCULATORS and mobile phones were very prominent at the weekend as the third and final round of the Tipperary Water County Senior Hurling championship and the Seamus O'Riain Cup were completed.
Loughmore Castleiney, Clonoulty Rossmore, Thurles Sarsfields and Eire Og Annacarty topped their respective groups and are happy in the knowledge that they have a place in the quarter finals for certain.
The positions of the four group runners up are less certain as Borris-Ileigh, Drom Inch, Kilruane MacDonaghs and Mullinahone must sit back and watch the outcomes of the respective divisional championships. Remember if any team that failed to make the top two of the County Senior hurling Groupings win their divisional final then they will be involved in a preliminary quarter final game with the four teams in the runners up spots.
Anything is possible and a quick glance at teams that may succeed in possibly winning a divisional title and are not in the top eight includes Kiladangan, Nenagh Eire Og and Templederry from the North division. Upperchurch Drombane and Holycross are two from Mid Tipp. Knockavilla Kichkams have an outside chance in West Tipp while Killenaule are strong candidates in South Tipp. It's all to play for yet.
Meanwhile four teams who finished bottom of their respective groups will have to fight off relegation and avoid the drop to the Seamus O'Riain Cup for 2018. They include Kiladangan (if they fail to win the North championship), Ballina, Carrick Swans (if they fail to win the South championship) and Burgess. The four teams will play a round robin with the top two staying up. The bottom two will be replaced by the teams that reach the Seamus O'Riain Cup final.
The Results of the Group stage third round games played last weekend were.
Group 1
Borris-Ileigh 4-17 Upperchurch Drombane 0-15; Loughmore Castleiney 2-19 Kiladangan 2-14.
The order in which they finished in the group was Loughmore Castleiney, Borris-Ileigh, Upperchurch and Kiladangan.
Group 2
Drom Inch 3-20 Ballina 2-16; Portroe 1-19 Clonoulty Rossmore 0-22
The 1, 2, 3, 4 - Clonoulty Rossmore, Drom Inch, Portroe and Ballina.
Group 3
Thurles Sarsfields 4-20 Nenagh Eire Og 2-10; Kilruane MacDonaghs 3-21 Carrick Swans 1-17
The 1, 2, 3, 4 - Thurles Sarsfields, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Nenagh Eire Og and Carrick Swans.
Group 4
Mullinahone 2-17 Killenaule 1-13; Eire Og Annacarty 2-20 Burgess 1-17.
1, 2, 3, 4 - Eire Og, Mullinahone, Killenaule and Burgess.
Seamus O'Riain Cup
The make-up of the eight teams to contest the quarter finals of the Seamus O'Riain are as follows. Group winners: Toomevara, Templederry, J K Brackens and Holycross Ballycahill. Runners up: Roscrea, Silvermines, Clonakenny and Lorrha.
The four relegation teams for two to drop down after the round-robin include Ballingarry, Moycarkey Borris, Borrisokane and Knockavilla Kickhams. All except Borrisokane will have a chance to avoid the drop because of possibly winning their divisional finals. Two drop down to Intermediate grade.
Group 1
Toomevara 2-20 Newport 0-12; Roscrea 3-25 Ballingarry 2-11
1st Toomevara, 2nd Roscrea.
Group 2
Silvermines 0-27 Moycarkey Borris 3-12.
1st Templederry, 2nd Silvermines
Group 3
Clonakenny 1-19 Borrisokane 2-14.
1st J K Brackens, 2nd Clonakenny.
Group 4
Lorrha 3-20 Knockavilla Kickhams 2-20.
1st Holycross Ballycahill, 2nd Lorrha
Tipperary Water County IHC
Three North Tipperary teams, Ballinahinch, Kiladangan and Moneygall are through to the knockout stages of the Tipperary Water County Intermediate Hurling Championship. The three teams won their games last weekend. Ballinahinch had an easy win over Golden, Moneygall overcame Roscrea while Kiladangan had two goals to spare over Latten Cullen Gaels.
Shannon Rovers failed to make it despite claiming a three point win over Cashel King Cormacs.
Overall, with the third round was completed last weekend, six teams, Ballinahinch, Kilsheelan, Moyne Templetuohy, Sean Treacys, Cappawhite and Drom Inch won their respective groups.
Three group winners Ballinahinch, Sean Treacys and Cappawhite will gain automatic entry in the quarter finals because they were involved in four team groups and they will be joined by one of the other three group winners - Kilsheelan, Moyne and Drom Inch. The team will be picked out of a hat. The remaining two will be joined by group runners up, Thurles Sarsfields, Moyle Rovers, Saint Marys Clonmel, Carrick Davins, Kiladangan and Moneygall and the eight will perform in the preliminary quarter finals.
Meanwhile Gortnahoe, Boherlahan, Galtee Rovers, Cashel, Latten Cullen Gaels and Roscrea will contest the relegation contest unless one of them manages to win their divisional championship.
The results of last weekend are.
Group 1: Ballinahinch 1-26 Golden 0-11; Thurles Sarsfields 1-24 Gortnahoe 1-9.
Group 2: Moneygall 1-23 Roscrea 0-16.
Group 3: Moyne Templetuohy 1-16 Boherlahan 1-16.
Group 4: Sean Treacys 0-19 Carrick Davins 0-15; Shannon Rovers 1-18 Cashel 2-12.
Group 5: Kiladangan 2-16 Latten Cullen Gaels 0-16; Arravale Rovers 3-15 Cappawhite 0-11.
Group 6: Moyle Rovers 2-13 Galtee Rovers 0-12.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete