Tipperary crowned Tony Forristal champions

Thursday, 7 September 2017

Tipperary were crowned Tony Forristal Champions when they defeated Galway 1-13 to 1-9 at Waterford last Saturday week.

The U14B panel exited the Sonny Walsh tournament at the semi-final stage having lost to Cork 0-14 to 1-7.

That weekend was very busy for Tipperary inter county teams as the players were hurling in various venues in South Tipperary as well as in Waterford, Cork and Clare.

In the U15A Carrigdhoun Tournament in Cork, Tipperary won the Plate Final defeating Waterford 2-9 to 1-6 while the U15B panel lost the Munster B Tournament shield final in Clarecastle to Kerry 3-5 to 1-7.

With the South Tipp Division hosting the Arrabawn Cup Under 16 A and John Doyle Cup Under 16 B competitions, Tipperary to the fore in both tournaments.

The U16 A panel after four hard games made it through to the final where they unfortunately lost out to Kilkenny 3-12 to 2-10.

There was also heartbreak for the U16 B panel who lost their final to Cork on penalty's when both sides couldn't be separated after extra time in their encounter.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete