Ballyskenagh / Killavilla GAA Golf Classic

Thursday, 21 September 2017

Ballyskenagh / Killavilla GAA Golf Classic thumbnail1st & Hogan Cup winners in the Ballyskenagh/Killavilla GAA Club Golf Classic at Roscrea Golf Club were A Shanahan, F Lyons, John Hogan (Hogan Cup Sponsor), Michael Ryan, Mary Hogan, B, Hogan, P Hogan

Ballyskenagh/Killavilla GAA Club held their Annual Golf Classic in Roscrea Golf Club recently. A most enjoyable event was had by all involved and the golf was certainly of a high standard for both golfers and hurlers!

The hurling club wishes to thank all the staff/course staff of Roscrea Golf Club & Parkers Restaurant for facilitating them on their annual golf classic which is a great day out for the Hurling Club. A big thanks to all the organisers and to everyone who helped out on the day. Also thanks to all the sponsors for this event, which would not be possible without your support, especially main sponsor Dooley Wool Ltd, Wool Merchants & Exporters, Ballyduff, Roscrea.

There was a Hole in One on the 8th hole and the lucky man was Brendan Currivan who was presented with a beautiful crystal clock.

 The hurling club also held a gathering of the Ballyskenagh Minor teams of 1990/91 and the Killavilla Junior A team of 1991 on the night which relived the past success of the club. Special thanks to all who attended and to Parkers restaurant for sponsoring the food.

Well done to all the competitors and to the prize winners who are as follows;


GUI Section

1st & Hogan Cup Winners; Michael Ryan, Aidan Shanahan, Flan Lyons, Mark Bourke (97pts) sponsored by Dooley Wool Ltd.

2nd; Shane Mulrooney, Michael Parlon, John Carroll, Tom Byrnes (96pts) sponsored by Murphy Medical Practice.

3rd; Tony Mason, Kevin O'Connor, Billy O'Connor, Kevin Maloney (94pts) sponsored by Douglas Hardware.

4th; Nevan Phelan, Alan Slattery, Carl Creegan, Michael Tierney (90pts) sponsored by Denis Mullally Haulage.

5th; Eamon Ryan, Liam Ryan, TP Healy, Danny O'Sullivan, (90pts) sponsored by Michael Horan's Golf Pro Shop, Birr.


Non-GUI Section

1st; David Buckley, Denis Breen, Michael Mockler, Niall Munroe (91pts) sponsored by O'Neill Sports.

2nd; John McLoughney, James Masterson, Fergal Parlon, Nigel Dooley (90pts) sponsored by Maloney Hurley Store.

3rd; Alan Franks, Kevin Dooley, John Troy, Damien Howe (89pts) sponsored by Parkers Restaurant.

4th; Cormac Franks, Enda Maloney, Martin Dooley, Kevin Maloney (83pts) sponsored by Liffey Mills.

5th; Brian King, Brian Quinlan, Martin Cummins, Padraig Carroll (82pts) sponsored by Kings Castles, killavilla.

 Longest Drive Men's; David Carney, Ladies; Marita King, sponsored by Horgan/Carroll Architects, Middleton.

 Nearest the Pins; Men's, Gerry Kavanagh, Ladies; Siobhan Dooley.

11th hole Competition; winner, Brendan Coughlan Seir Kieran GAA club, sponsored by Centenary Home & Garden Centre.

Winner, Richard Phelan B/K GAA club, sponsored by Bank Of Ireland.

 Best Outfit; winner, Cormac Bergin, sponsored by Shaws Department Store.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete