Tipperary Community Games cross country events

Thursday, 9 November 2017

Tipperary Community Games cross country events thumbnailPictured at the County Finals of Tipperary Community Games Cross Country events in Thurles Crokes AC to determine Tipperary Teams for 2018 National Finals

THE decision to run the County Finals of the 2018 Tipperary Community Games Cross Country Events during the cross country season proved correct as the event was an outstanding success. Participation increased considerably with a total of 105 children going for glory in Thurles Crokes AC recently. 
All athletes were fit and mad for action as the primary schools cross country took place in Marlfield the previous day where a total of 1,500 competitors took part following the amazing total of 3,700 participating in the Schools Cross Country in Thurles two weeks earlier.
There was a wide distribution of medals and all children had a very enjoyable evening.
Albert Doyle, New Inn, presented the "Mary Doyle Trophy" for the Area with the most participants to Annette O'Donnell, Secretary of the recently revived Boherlahan Dualla area, who were proud to be the first winners of this special trophy in memory of the late Mary Doyle, New Inn, who did so much work for Community Games and Athletics in general, and who sadly passed away earlier this year.
 The following children make up the Tipperary teams who will contest the 2018 National Finals:
Girls U-12; 1 Millie Kelly, Knockavilla Donaskeigh, 2 Saoirse Doran, Thurles, 3 Sophie Coughlan, Moycarkey Borris, 4 Jennifer O'Leary, Cloughjordan, 5 Danielle Ryan, Kilcommon, 6 Shannon O'Grady, Kilcommon.
Boys U-12; 1 Darragh O'Donnell, Boherlahan Dualla, 2 Charlie Tobin, Newport, 3 Briain Morrison, Powerstown Lisronagh, 4 Tadgh O'Donnell, Boherlahan Dualla, 5 Fred Perry, Powerstown Lisronagh, 6 Killian Doran, Holycross.
Girls U-14; 1 Erin Hanrahan, Kilsheelan Kilcash, 2 Jane O'Donnell, Kilsheelan Kilcash, 3 Hazel Brennan, Powerstown Lisronagh, 4 Kate Ralph, Moycarkey Borris, 5 Muireann Duffy, Powerstown Lisronagh, 6 Aoife O'Sullivan, Ballingarry.
Boys U-14; 1 Cian Hodgins, Nenagh, 2 Darragh Minogue, Thurles, 3 James Doyle, Holycross, 4 Joe Egan, Moycarkey Borris, 5 Tom Walshe, Nenagh, 6 Micheal Moynan, Nenagh.
Girls U-13; 1 Hannah Grace, Cloughjordan, 2 Ruby Carroll, Powerstown Lisronagh, 3 Amy Kelly, Ballingarry, 4 Paula Quirke, Boherlahan Dualla, 5 Aoibheann Fogarty, Moycarkey Borris.
Boys U-13; 1 Dara Kennedy, Newport, 2 Cian Flaherty, Powerstown Lisronagh, 3 Odhran McGrath, Clerihan, 4 Jim O'Dwyer, Upperchurch Drombane,  5 Sean McHugo, Newport.     
 The committee wish to congratulate the winners and thank all areas who supported the event especially Kathleen & Patsy Dorney, Thurles for hosting the event.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete