Borrisokane come from behind to seal victory

Thursday, 3 May 2018

BORRISOKANE produced a great second half recovery to defeat Moneygall in a very exciting Denis Meats North Tipperary Intermediate hurling Semi final played at Thomas MacDonagh Park, Cloughjordan last Saturday evening.
They came from nine points down after 28 minutes to outscore Moneygall 2-10 to 0-5 over the remainder of the hour for a deserving win.
They trailed 0-12 to 0-4 at half time before two goals inside the opening six minutes of the second half helped turn the game in Borrisokane's favour and while they never led by more than three points it would have been a travesty if they had to lose and instead they enter the final after an eight year lapse.
But it was far from secure in the opening half as Moneygall enjoyed the best of the play in terms of scoring. Adam Hogan was leading marksman with six first half points while Dylan Maher, Conor Ryan supplied two each. Both Willie Greene and Bob Kenny added a point each as Moneygall led from behind with the midfield pairing of Joe Fogarty and Brendan Toohey very good.
And what went past them was left to a defence which had moments of danger but corner back Stephen Maher did everything possible to repel the Borris attack which was reduced to three pointed frees (two for Jack Larkin and one from Shane Dooley) while Garry Ryan added one from play. Let's not forget Mark Fanning in the Moneygall goal who produced a good save when he denied Shane Dooley in the eighth minute. At the other end Enda Heenan denied Dylan Maher another goal chance.
At the interval Moneygall's problems began when Stephen Maher was replaced by Ger Ryan. Then after five minutes in the second half, Conor Ryan went off because of injury and he was replaced by Mike Ryan. Five minutes later the management decided to change their goalkeeper with Ciaran Quinlan replacing Mark Fanning in an attempt to change their puckout strategy.
In addition Borrisokane introduced Philip Austin and he made a big impact on the game and with a strengthening breeze it didn't take long for Borrisokane to capitalise on the elements. A Shane Dooley point after thirty seconds set the comeback in motion. Adam Hogan replied with a free but play swung back very quickly as Garry Ryan won the resulting puckout. He fed Philip Austin who in a split second had the Moneygall defence cut open before he sent a rasper past Fanning.
Peter McSherry won a free and Shane Dooley converted before another Borris attack led to Shane Dooley getting the vital touch to a Brian Davis high delivery for Borrisokane's second goal. Three unanswered points followed from Brian Davis (free), Colm Larkin and Garry Ryan which was a great score. Ryan was much involved.
Adam Hogan hit back with a valuable free but other than frees Moneygall had no answer as Brian Davis Stephen Gavin and David Kennedy held firm at half back and the inside full backline of Shane Nevin, Eddie O'Dwyer and Cathal Dooley had come to terms with the Moneygall inside forward line.
Both Shane Dooley (free) and Brendan Toohey swapped points before Liam Cleary restored Borrisokane's three point lead with a great point.
Brendan Toohey reduced the margin but his defence had a lucky escape at the other end when Philip Austin missed a half chance of goal but the lead increased to three again after Shane Dooley pointed a free which was his team's last score just on the hour mark.
There were three minutes of added time which Moneygall used but the nearest they came to unearthing a goal was when Brendan Toohey's close in free went inches over the bar.
That was that and Borrisokane had survived to claim a deserving win as they now face Ballinahinch in the final.
SCORERS: Borrisokane; S Dooley (1-5, 0-4f); P Austin (1-0); G Ryan (0-2); J Larkin (0-2, 2f); B Davis (0-1f); C Larkin and L Cleary (0-1 each).
Moneygall; A Hogan (0-8, 0-6f); B Tuohy (0-3, 0-1f); D Maher and C Ryan (0-2); W Greene and B Kenny (0-1 each).
BORRISOKANE: Enda Brennan; Shane Nevin, Eddie O'Dwyer, Cathal Dooley; David Kennedy, Stephen Gavin, Brian Davis; Conor Forde, Jack Larkin; Michael Heenan, Peter McSherry, Garry Ryan; Colm Larkin, Shane Dooley, Liam Kelly. Subs: Jody Cleary (for Forde, 29 mins); Philip Austin (for J Larkin, half time, inj); Liam Dooley (for M Heenan, 47 mins); Conor Slevin (for G Ryan, 63 mins).
MONEYGALL: Mark Fanning; Stephen Maher, Phil Fanning, Timmy Flaherty; Cathal Hogan, Cathal Kennedy, Donal Carroll; Brendan Toohey, Joe Fogarty; Conor Ryan, Willie Greene, Dylan Maher; Ger Kirwan, Adam Hogan, Bob Kenny. Subs: Ger Ryan (for S Maher, half time); Mike Ryan (for Ger Ryan, 35 mins, inj); Ciaran Quinlan (for M Fanning, 40 mins); Paddy Fogarty (for Kenny, 53 mins).
REFEREE: Ger Treacy (Borris-Ileigh).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete