Tipperary aiming for revenge against Cork in U-21 decider

Thursday, 23 August 2018

Tipperary aiming for revenge against Cork in U-21 decider thumbnailJake Morris scored Tipperary's second goal in their All-Ireland semi-final victory over Galway. MT33239BD

What have Cian Darcy, Jerome Cahill both of Kilruane MacDonaghs and Jake Morris, Nenagh Eire Og got in common?
Well apart from lining out in attack with Tipperary in next Sunday's All-Ireland Under-21 Hurling Final against Cork (at The Gaelic Grounds, Limerick, throw in 5.30pm), they were part of the eleven players that took part with Tipperary in the Primary Game against Cork back in 2011 as part of the Munster senior hurling championship quarter final programme that year.
The trio were joined by Brian McGrath, Loughmore Castleiney and Shane Neville of Lattin Cullen as well as Jerry Kelly Borris-Ileigh. McGrath usually lines out at full back with the team and there is no reason to suspect he will be moved from there. Jerry Kelly of Borris-Ileigh was a member of the panel but injury has ruled him out while Shane Neville is part of the extended panel.
The lads mentioned above have toiled together over the next seven seasons competing in the Peadar Cummins, Tony Forrestal, the Arrabawn and the Minor and now they just one hour away from an All-Ireland medal as Tipp face Cork at Limerick next Sunday evening.
Thanks to a decision made by Congress last Autumn its the first time two teams from the one province meet in the final and because of that Tipperary followers won't need reminding of the Munster final meeting this year when Tipperary were well beaten by Cork at the new Pairc Ui Chaoimh.
Since then Tipperary have regained their composure and mapped out a marvellous win over Galway in the All-Ireland semi final. The two goal victory (3-17 to 1-17) was well planned as team manager Liam Cahill made five changes from the game against Cork starting with Barry Hogan stepping into goal in place of the injured Ciaran Barrett. Eoghan Connolly of Cashel played corner back taking up Podge Campion's position with Campion taking over at right wing back in place of Cian Flanagan. Portroe's Robert Byrne manned the centre back position in place of Paddy Cadell. Stephen Nolan, Drom Inch started at midfield with Colin English moving to the attack which meant the removal of Lyndon Fairbrother while in another switch up front, Cian Darcy, Kilruane MacDonaghs replaced David Gleeson.
The five changes proved to be correct ones with Robert Byrne the only player at twenty one- playing a huge role at centre back and was one of five on the shortlist for man of the match alongside Dylan Quirke at wing back, Ger Browne at midfield plus Jake Morris and Mark Kehoe in attack.
The five will need to up to the mark against a class Cork team that includes the excellent Mark Coleman -one of three senior players to win a Munster senior medal this year along side Shane Kinston and Darragh Fitzgibbon. Fitzgibbon failed to play the full hour in the Munster final because of injury. Other players to note are Conor Cahalan, Declan Lowney and Declan Dalton at centre forward. Dalton is an excellent free taker as well but he sustained an injury against Wexford in the All-Ireland semi final.
That 3-26 to 0-13 win was as comprehensive as it gets for the Rebels but Wexford were missing their influential forward John O'Connor.
Winning the Under -21 final is the best currency at the moment as recent wins by Waterford, Galway, Clare and Kilkenny have demonstrated. It's 2010 since Tipp last appeared in the final which they won convincingly against a young Galway team. Cork, meanwhile must look back to 1998 since they last claimed the title. They defeated Galway in the final.
Cork are odds on to win the title and add to the eleven already at Leeside. They collected the silverware in 1966, '68, '69, '70, '71, '73, '76, '82, '88, '97 and '98.
Tipperary have won the title on nine previous occasions as follows including captain - 1964 (Francis Loughnane), 1967 (P.J. Ryan), 1979 (Michael Doyle), 1980 (Philip Kennedy), 1981 (Philip Kennedy), 1985 (Michael Scully), 1989 (Declan Ryan), 1995 (Brian Horgan) and 2010 (Padraic Maher).
There have been 34 previous meetings between the sides with Tipperary on 16 wins to Cork's 15 and three games were drawn, the last meeting being the aforementioned recent Munster Final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.
The referee on Sunday will be John Keenan (Wicklow).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete