Nally chosen as Offaly GAA/Bridge House U21 hurler of the year


With the U21 hurling championship running late in Offaly and only been concluded the Saturday before Christmas, the choosing of the U21 hurler of the year was delayed to take the final and subsequent replay into account.

The 18 other awards were selected back in early December but the 19th and final award has now been chosen with influential Belmont midfielder David Nally the recipient.

Nally was a key figure in Belmont's charge to their first U21 'A' championship and also was a leading light for their senior team before falling to Coolderry in the semi final by a point back in September.

An equally talented footballer, he would have been in the conversation for Intermediate footballer and U20 football of the year also.

In a recap of the other awards, Kevin Connolly and Anton Sullivan scooped the senior hurler and footballer award respectively for their exploits in guiding their clubs to County success.

Shamrocks success in the Senior ‘B’ football was recognised with Nigel Dunne winning the award for the second year in a row while David Magner was selected as the Senior ‘B’ hurler of the year as Ballinamere won the final.

In the Ladies arm of the awards, there was double delight for Kate Kenny. The Ferbane teenager won both the Ladies football and Camogie awards in what is a first in the awards scheme. She helped St Rynagh’s to Offaly and Leinster club titles while she also starred for Naomh Ciaran as they won the Offaly Ladies football championship before being beaten in the Leinster final.

Kinnitty’s Ger Coughlan was selected as the latest inductee into the hall of fame. The Kinnitty man is a holder of two All Ireland medals and played 97 times for Offaly between league and championship.

His football counterpart for this year will be Kevin Kilmurray. The Daingean native won two All Ireland football titles and lined out 85 times for Offaly in league and championship finishing up just before Offaly won the All Ireland in 1982.

Cian Johnson (U20 football) and David Hope (Handball) will back for the second year in a row and the presentation night will be held on Saturday January 19 in the Bridge House Hotel in Tullamore. Tickets for the event are on sale now from Offaly County Board.

The players of the year were selected by a selection committee comprising of Brian Lowry (Midland Tribune), Kevin Corrigan (Tullamore Tribune), Mary Dunne (Offaly Topic) and Joe Troy (Midlands 103).

The full list of winners is as follows;

Football Hall of fame – Kevin Kilmurray (Daingean)

Senior football – Anton Sullivan (Rhode)

Senior ‘B’ football – Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)

Intermediate football – Dermot Daly (Ferbane)

Junior ‘A’ football – Clint Horan (Clodiagh Gaels)

Football referee – Fintan Pierce (Raheen)

U20 football – Cian Johnson (Ferbane)

Minor football – Rory Egan (Edenderry)

Hurling Hall of fame – Ger Coughlan (Kinnitty)

Senior hurling – Kevin Connolly (Coolderry)

Senior ‘B’ hurling – David Magner (Ballinamere)

Intermediate hurling – Mikey Ryan (Kilcormac/Killoughey)

Junior ‘A’ hurling – Michael Cordial (Shinrone)

U21 hurling – David Nally (Belmont)

Hurling referee – Shane Guinan (Drumcullen)

Minor hurling – Cathal Kiely (Kilcormac/Killoughey)

Camogie – Kate Kenny (St Rynagh’s)

Ladies football – Kate Kenny (Naomh Ciaran)

Handball – David Hope (Fahy)

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500