Carroll selected on club team of the year


COOLDERRY'S Brian Carroll picked up a coveted AIB GAA club senior hurling player of the year award last Saturday night as he was named at number 15 in the team of the year.

Fresh from helping Coolderry get the better of Ballinamere in the Senior Hurling Championship earlier that day, Carroll picked up the award as the only recipient not from a club who won their provincial crown.

The team was dominated by the Ballyhale Shamrocks contingent but Carroll's inclusion was well merited for some superb performances throughout the club championship. His 2-16 against Ballyboden in the Leinster semi final was sensational while he was also to the fore in their win over Mount Leinster Rangers in the previous round.

Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael John Horan said: “This is a great honour for the clubs, schools and families who have players represented on this prestigious selection - players who have given so much of their time to the perfection of their skills in the service of their clubs.

“Every year the hurling club championship can be relied upon to bring us so much about what makes the club campaign so enthralling - legends are born and history is made –and all for the glory of clubs and communities.

“These awards look to pay tribute to the stand out performers and our thanks to AIB for enabling us to make this scheme possible.”

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Hurling 2019

Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); Eoghan Campbell (Ruairí Óg), Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Ian Kenny (Ballygunner); Philip Mahony (Ballygunner), Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Fintan Burke (St Thomas’); Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner), Neil McManus (Ruairí Óg); Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner); Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Brian Carroll (Coolderry).

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500